Contact Us

Drop Us A Line

13 + 10 =

Newsletter Contributions

The editors of the newsletter welcome contributions.

Send your ideas or submissions to Amy King at

A subscription to the Newsletter accompanies membership in the SSSL. Annual membership fees are $20 for tenured and tenure-track faculty and $10 for graduate students, retired faculty, and instructors. To join, please visit our membership page.


Gina Caison
Georgia State University 

Past President
Lisa Hinrichsen
University of Arkansas

Monica Carol Miller
Middle Georgia State University

Digital Media Coordinator
Caitlin Creson
Georgia State University

Newsletter Editor
Amy King
Auburn University

Editorial Assistant
Will Murray


Executive Council

Mae Miller Claxton (2016-2018)
Western Carolina University

Brannon Costello (2018-2020)
Louisiana State University

Rain Prud’homme Cranford (2017-2019)
University of Calgary

Elizabeth Rodriguez Fielder (2018-2020)
University of Pittsburgh

Katherine Henninger (2018-2020)
Louisiana State University

Lisa Hinrichsen (2016-2018)
University of Arkansas

Sharon Holland (2017-2019)
University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill

Sherita Johnson (2017-2019)
University of Southern Mississippi

Jennie Lightweis-Goff (2018-2020)
University of Mississippi

Molly McGehee (2018-2020)
Oxford College, Emory University

Erich Nunn (2018-2020)
Auburn University

Zackary Vernon (2016-2018)
Appalachian State University

Kelly Vines (2016-18)
(Past President of SSSL Emerging Scholars Organization)
Louisiana State University

Qiana Whitted (2017-2019)
University of South Carolina

Honorary Advisor
José E. Limón (2018-2020)
Notre Dame Foundation Professor of American Literature Emeritus at the University of Notre Dame
Mody C. Boatright Regents Professor of American Literature Emeritus at the University of Texas at Austin